Kelly Pratt: Live Aurihorn Performance

“Hear, Here” Gallery Sessions

Kelly Pratt: Live Aurihorn Performance “Hear, Here” Gallery Sessions | Events Calendar
Background of Cover Image: Jeanine Oleson, Untitled, 2014. Intaglio print, 12 × 7 ¼ in (30.5 × 18.5 cm). Printed by Marina Ancona, 10 Grand Press. Courtesy the artist

E Village / LES

New Museum | 235 Bowery

General Public Free
Members Free
½ Gallery Admission with same day event ticket purchase.

Presented in conjunction with “Hear, Here” and the spring R&D Season: VOICE.

“Hear, Here” Gallery Sessions is a series of public events that take place within the exhibition “Hear, Here” by Jeanine Oleson, presented in the Fifth Floor Gallery. The set and objects for an opera created by Oleson (to premiere in the New Museum Theater June 13–14) will be present during the run of the exhibition, forming an impromptu stage set and catalyst for this series. Each session is led by an invited guest or guests who react to the concepts and objects presented in the exhibition.

Thursday June 5 at 7 PM
Kelly Pratt: Live Aurihorn Performance

Kelly Pratt will compose and perform a piece of music specifically for the Aurihorn (conceived and designed by Jeanine Oleson) that will highlight unique characteristics and quirks of the ear-shaped instrument.

Kelly Pratt is a multi-instrumentalist, composer, and arranger. From 2006–12, he was a full-time member of indie-pop outfit Beirut. He has collaborated with hundreds of artists including Arcade Fire, Coldplay, LCD Soundsystem, and Passion Pit. More recently, he was music director for David Byrne and St. Vincent’s “Love this Giant” world tour. Pratt is also the chief songwriter and vocalist of the band Bright Moments, whose debut NPR called “a wildly creative album, packed with energy.”

A complete list of “Hear, Here” Gallery Sessions and participants includes:

May 1 – Angel Nevarez/Valerie Tevere
May 4 – Jean Casella and Five Mualimm-ak
May 9 – Joy Askew
May 10 – Rainy Orteca
May 18 – Courtesy the Artists
May 24 – Beatriz Santiago Muñoz
May 31 – Cara Baldwin
June 1 – Jaleh Mansoor
June 5 – Kelly Pratt